About AIMS

Mission Statement

The Association of Illinois Middle-Grade Schools (AIMS) is committed to exemplary programs, practices, and policies that support professionals, families and communities who educate adolescent students, typically ages 10-15, and their transitions.

AIMS takes the leadership role in building, promoting and preserving excellence and equity in professional preparation and practices for the middle-level learner.


AIMS Board of Directors 2017-18

  • John Viano, Executive Director
  • Jeremie Smith, President – Principal. Mattoon Middle School
  • Steve Diveley, Vice President
  • Vicki Mogil, Treasurer
  • Marcia Taylor, Secretary

Board Members

  • Allan Davenport, Director of Instructional Technology. Indian Prairie SD. 204
  • Steve Diveley
  • Nikita Horn, Teacher. Mason Elementary School. Chicago, IL
  • Dana Isackson, Principal. Macomb Junior High
  • Barbara Kalina, Retired Teacher. Program Facilitator. Batavia
  • Heather Landrus, Principal. Mahomet-Seymour Junior High
  • Steve Severson, Gregory Middle School. Naperville, IL
  • Bryan Zwemke, Principal. Rotolo Middle School. Batavia, IL
  • Mike Raczak, Friend of the Executive Director
  • Gary Weilbacher, College and University Rep. Illinois State University
  • Steve Mertens, Research Committee. Illinois State University