The Association of Illinois Middle-Grade Schools (AIMS) is proud to announce New and Re-designated Illinois Horizon Schools to Watch (IHSTW) for 2020.

These schools demonstrate exemplary middle-level programming through academic excellence, responsiveness in meeting student social-emotional needs and providing an organizational structure that supports best practices is early adolescent education. They will be honored at the National Schools to Watch Conference, June 25-27, in Washington D.C.

Schools earning Initial Designation include:

Barrington Middle School Prairie Campus. Barrington Principal: Travis Lobbins
Mannheim Middle School. Melrose Park. Principal: Tim Daley
Old Quarry Middle School. Lemont. Principal: Joe Sweeney

Schools earning Re-designation II status include:

Crone Middle School. Naperville Principal: Melissa Couch
Kaneland Harter Middle School. Sugar Grove Principal: Brian Faulkner

Schools earning Re-designation IV status include:

Field Middle School. Northbrook Principal: Dr. April Miller
Mattoon Middle School. Mattoon Principal: Nathan Pugh

Schools Earning Re-designation V status include:

Gregory Middle School. Naperville Principal: Leslie Mitchell
Indian Creek Middle School. Waterman Principal: Steven Simpson

To view the complete list of Illinois Horizon Schools to Watch or to find out more about IHSTW, please visit

John Viano
Executive Director
Association of Illinois Middle-Grade Schools (AIMS)